N’Golo Kante to set to win PFA Player of the Year after shortlist announced

Kante among the six players on shortlist for Player of the Year along with Chelsea team-mate Eden Hazard

N’Golo Kante to set to win PFA Player of the Year after shortlist announced

Posted by


April 13th, 2017

Share on Google+

The PFA Players’ Player of the Year usually goes to an attacking player although the trend is likely to be bucked for the 2016/17 season, with N’Golo Kante a very short-priced favourite to land the award.

The Frenchman won a Premier League champions medal last season with Leicester City and looks to be about to repeat the trick with Chelsea, having been an ever-present in the engine room again this term.

Kante is among six players on the shortlist, with Eden Hazard second favourite to win and many believe the Belgian should scoop Player of the Year for a second time, although some of his best performances have come after the voting deadline.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Harry Kane, Romelu Lukaku and Alexis Sanchez are the other players listed, although none of these players are thought to be in contention.

Meanwhile, Dele Alli is a surprising omission from the Player of the Year list although the Tottenham midfielder looks home and hosed to win Young Player of the Year.

Men’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year

Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Man Utd), Harry Kane (Tottenham), N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea), Romelu Lukaku (Everton), Alexis Sánchez (Arsenal)

Men’s PFA Young Player of the Year
Harry Kane (Tottenham), Dele Alli (Tottenham), Romelu Lukaku (Everton), Michael Keane (Burnley), Jordan Pickford (Sunderland), Leroy Sané (Manchester City).

Comments are closed

Find us on Google+